REVIEW: Lover Awakened – A Black Dagger Brotherhood novel #3 by J.R. Ward

The third novel in the Black Dagger Brotherhood is very intense.  Anyone as cold or filled with rage as Zsadist, has an extraordinary story behind him.

As with all Black Dagger Brotherhood novels, this one is filled with lust and love.  Betrayal and violation.  Restraint and fury.

This novel is about Zsadist being consumed by the force of Bella!  It is one of the best books in this series.

The story behind Zsadist is amazing.  I don’t mind writing a few tidbits about him here, as it encompasses the entire novel and is not too bad of a spoiler.

Zsadist was kidnapped, taken from his home and his twin, Phury.  For over a century, he was a blood slave to a narcissistic Mistress.  Unfortunately, the violations did not stop there.  After his transition, he  became her favorite of all her slaves.  Rape and mortification.  The story is pretty damned brutal and a must read.

Behind all of the bitterness, violence and anger, is a man suffering from those traumas.

Bella, a stubborn and high-class woman in their race, was kidnapped in the end of the last book.  Taken from those lesser bastards, she is beaten but never conquered.  Zsadist raged through the nights, never stopping, never accepting her death.  Searching for the lesser that could lead him to her, his brothers become disgusted and worried with the obsession that fills Zsadist.

Fighting to breach the walls that Zsadist has so carefully forged, Bella is fighting a terrible battle of will.  She wants Zsadist like none other, and the effort she makes to understand him, and to have him open up enough to give her love a chance, is tremendous.

This soap opera series is incredible.  The character progression that takes place around and during Bella and Zsadist’s story is what truly makes this series unique and heart wrenching.

I recommend this book to adults only.  Do not allow children to read this book.  Moderate to extreme violence.  Severe and disturbing sexual content.  Rape.  Abuse.  For anyone reading this series, this book is a MUST READ.  As always, all of the books in this series must be read in order.

Comments rock!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s